Of Tiredness

I found this random quote, but I don’t know who to attribute it to, however, it’s has sparked some thoughts:

Each night, when I go to sleep, I die.  And the next morning, when I wake up, I am reborn

This is a marvelously brilliant use of words to paint an emotionally filled picture.  I wish I could have thought of it myself – I’m just not that good of a word-smith.  I also wish that this worked for me.  This last week, including the Fourth of July holiday week feels like I just couldn’t fall asleep and stay asleep.  Most nights I would wake up two or three times, only to toss and turn for an hour or so.  On the weekends, I would just get out of bed if it was after 4, fix a cup of coffee and sit out back in the cool yet to be born morning.  It was always very relaxing, but made it rough to accomplish anything else during the day.

Of course work has been affected, as I’m breezing through my mornings, then hit a brink wall after lunch.  I need to get back to a regular sleep pattern, especially as I’m working towards making Monday and Friday mornings early morning spin-class days.  I’m thinking of adding morning runs to the middle three days as well as keeping the Wednesday evening group rides!  And there is the possibility of a two-a-day or Saturday swim and yoga practice.  Whew, I’m tired just typing that!

My hope is that all this exorcise will help me to fall asleep and stay asleep – especially as I start back into the Paleo lifestyle.  It should be easy to keep the lifestyle with a minimal work-travel schedule for the next couple of months.

Low travel, working out and functional movement (lawn-care, gardening, etc.), eating better: all of this I am hoping will lead to a rebirth each and every morning.  Both literally with my mind and body, as well as my soul.

 

One thought on “Of Tiredness

  1. Someone suggested to me that I take magnesium to help with sleep. It did help. I don’t know why I was low on it but the added magnesium did make a major difference. I think your sister, Karen also takes it. Peg

    Like

Leave a Reply

