Fixing Myself

It’s been an interesting two weeks.  A month ago I figured out that I can only make myself happy.  That if I want to feel loved and like myself, I have to be myself.  Certainly, getting to the gym three days a week and doing 3-5 classes in that same week has helped mentally and physically.  I’ve also picked up a few new clothes, and those made me feel renewed.  I’ve even allowed myself to get back into wearing crazy socks with my dress clothes.

I’ve been having a ton of fun burning calories on the Spin bike; having my clothes fit looser; having more energy.  It’s been good for the spirt to reground with my yoga practice.  Detox has been a part of this practice as well.  Adding green tea with ginger back into my diet has helped.

One of the other things I started last November, was to grow out the beard.  It looked like crap last year, as I tried to trim it to the same length as my goatee – which I was trimming longer (No.2 on the guide).  This year, I trimmed everything down to a No. 1 guide.  The beard was still not to my liking.  In the past, I would have shaved and questioned myself with “what-if” and looked to others for answers.  Instead, I held on until saw my barber, Eliz.  She was able to trim everything, beard & Goatee down tight.  The beard looked like a three or four day growth – perfect!  And while I’m still getting odd looks and occasional comments from folks at work, I just remind myself, that I need to do what I need to feel happy.

Below is the motivation poster that started me thinking about this post.  I have been pouring from my soul for far too long, without refilling it.15170833_1081020158692084_6888422409921677954_n

I want to start giving back.  My thought is to contact the cancer center and see if I can volunteer to help other patients.  I have already helped a few friends financially and I want to be able to continue with those little acts of kindness.  Again, it’s not that I’m not in a good place to do those acts, but they are meaningless if my soul isn’t in the right place.  The soul needs to be filled with good deeds first.

Amen.

 

 

One thought on “Fixing Myself

Leave a Reply

