Coopersburg

Back home today, from a whirl wind trip to Philly and back.  The travel was to meet with a potential new employer, but for a job in Tennessee!  For the return trip I decided to detour up through Bucks County and into Lehigh Country.  Part of this was remind myself of how absolutely beautiful Pennsylvania really is, and partly to check out a little town called Coopersburg.  Coopersburg is another town where I have applied for new employment.  I think getting this job is a bit of a stretch, but it is by far my favorite location of the three jobs I’m currently seeking.  So the detour added about 50 miles, and an hour and a half to the trip, but it was well worth it.

The weather for the two days I was back home, in and around Philly was absolutely gorgeous!  Sunny, warm, low humidity – couldn’t have asked for a better two days.  Then on the ride back to New York, the clouds rolled in, finally starting to rain when I hit the NY state line.  It was like NY was telling me, yes you are correct I’m all wet, you should leave as soon as possible, because it’s not going to get any better.  I guess I shouldn’t complain too much, it could be snowing!

I know nicer days will come to this area, as they did last year, even thought there never really was a great weekend of weather, the sun did finally show up for a couple of weeks.  This area never really seems to provide great weather, I don’t know why, and I’m further baffled as to why so many people live here!

The entire time I was work here, every one told me I have to visit Lake George.  From the descriptions, I envisioned relatively remote areas and camps with a few quant shops, sort of like the Moosehead lakes area in Maine.  So last weekend, in between clouds and broken sunshine, we took the 40 mile drive north.  We were greeted with the most gaudy sight I have ever seen!  A dinky, little “Six-Flags” amusement park, that would have fit in one small corner of the parking lot of the Great Adventure Park in New Jersey!

The Lake is long and narrow, not at all inviting for boating nor kayaking as I had be lead to believe.  The main drag along the lake, was filled with tourist junk shops and little mom-n-pop Italian food shops.  It felt like the Jersey shore on steroids, but not in a good way.  We didn’t stop long, but found a place to turn around and took route 9 south, back to the house.

Main St.
Main St.

To bring this full circle, driving through Coopersburg, a little town in the NorthEast corner of PA, with no lake, a few hills, plenty of farmland and lot’s of Americana, reminded me of what I was hoping to find in New York.  Alas, this contrast has taught me that my assumption about this state where correct from the start: there maybe some scenic areas, but the state stinksTo bring this full circle, driving through Coopersburg, a little town in the NorthEast corner of PA, with no lake, a few hills, plenty of farmland and lot’s of Americana, reminded me of what I was hoping to find in New York.  Alas, this contrast has taught me that my assumption about this state where correct from the start: there maybe some scenic areas, but the state stinks.

A move south will be a welcomed change.

Leave a Reply

