The Rock Garden

If a picture is truly worth a thousand words, then todays post will be very long indeed.

In the late spring of 2013, I was still living in Maine, and we had a rock garden in ihefront yard, truly just a pile of large boulders piled into a circle, some 10 feet in diameter, and topped with dirt.  Weeds and grass where the main thing that grew in that rock garden, but as soon as the snow melted, I burned off the dead plant matter, added new dirt and tried to plant plants that would repopulate the garden.  This year, the iris, peony and daffodil had establish a small foot hold, to which I supplemented pansies, so one overcast Saturday morning, I took my camera in hand and headed to the rock garden .

IMG_1021

Peony bud with morning dew on the spiderwebs.  The dew on the web is something I have wanted to capture many times before.  We would go for a walk with the dogs, either early mornings or in the late afternoon, and the dew would be heavy in the fields, and there would be a larger web structure, heavy with dew.  However, I would never have my camera with me and but the time I would get back to the spot – either the light would have been lost or the heat of the morning sun had evaporated the dew.

IMG_1015

Another flower in bud.  My transplanted irises.  The previous owner of the house had them scatter all around the yard.  I gathered them and planted them in a single bed in the backyard, while I worked the rock garden, trying invent to rid it of persistent weeds.  Finally, I just decided to transplant the iris with the peony in the center of the garden, and hoped that they would spread out and beat the weeds at their own game!  It was starting to work, but still required lots of work.

IMG_0991

A year after the iris and peony move, I gathered all the daffodil from the yard and transplanted them to the next ring in the rock garden.  We now had beautiful, bright yellow flowers that sprung up as soon as the snow had melted.  The color was always welcomed after the monochromatic Maine winter.  The problem being that their color was fleeting, and the other flowers bloomed months after the yellow was gone.

That’s when I started to added annuals.  Pansies are inexpensive, colorful and easy to maintain; which makes them good for pictures.  These are two of the varies I purchased the last year I was in the house, 2013.  The thing I really love about these photos is the dew, and the color contrast against the dark mulch.

IMG_1019IMG_1016

I don’t remember the name of the flower below, it was a late acquire from a little roadside shop that we also purchased plants for our vegetable garden.  It is supposed to be a good ground cover with time, I like the idea that it could help with weed control and add some mid-spring color.

IMG_1023

Finally, we have the champion of nature.  The might violet.  I saw this little purple gem growing among the dandelions, leaves and pine needles.  I love the color contrast, the way the flower is defiantly growing at the foot of this old pine tree.

IMG_1006

So there is a short review of my small rock garden in Maine.  I hope you enjoyed the photos.

Leave a Reply

