Hello world!

Well here I go.  Currently I’m between jobs, so I thought I would finally try my hand at writing.  I wish I could say it’s been a passion of mine, but it hasn’t.  Writing has always been that thing that I daydream about.  The weird dreams I remember or a cool thought on the drive to work, and I think, I wonder if I could put that on paper and expand it into a short story.

I’m not sure that will ever happen, but this is my platform into that world of writing, challenging myself to ramble daily, for at least the next month.  That’s the goal.  No less than 500 words, per day for the next 30 days. (I’m still not sure if I’m going to count setting up this blog and writing my intro as the first day.)

Me.  There are so many words I could use to describe who I am, and as I think about them, they are all action words, but when I really think deep down inside the true words to describe WHO I am flow easily.  I am a father, a husband, a son, and a brother.  Those four words are the summary of who I truly am.

I have a two wonderful boys, all grown up, in their twenties.  They both live in hundreds of miles from me, in the State they spent their whole lives growing up in – Maine.  I spent close to half my life in Maine, but I am far from a “Mainer”.  There are many aspects of the lifestyle that I love and miss, but there is much that I am glad to be away from as well.  My passion for the outdoor flourished there; I learned to shoot a firearm for the first time in Maine, and am now a very strong supporter of the 2nd Amendment.  The countryside is beautiful, but Maine is a state divided; Boston politics are making a slow crawl northward and infecting the best parts of the state.  Much like the politics of NYC destroying the greatness of the rest of the State of New York, where I currently reside. (more on that in a later post!)

Husband.  I like to think I got it right the second time around.  My wife is my rock.  She has helped me through secondary onset adult epilepsy, cancer and now two job changes.  I don’t know if I could have done any of this with out my greatest cheerleader and supporter.  So being a good husband, for me, is defined by the quality of the women you attract to spend the rest of her life with you.  By that definition, I am tops in my class!

Another great supporter in my life has been my mother.  She stubbornly clings to the 20th century – no internet, no computers; so she will in all likelihood, never see any of what I write.  She is in her early eighties, and is the bedrock from which me and my two sisters springboard our lives forward.  My hope is that I have been a good enough son.  I know she is very proud of me.

Most folks think my dad, or Pop as we all call him after his father, is dead.  I rarely talk about him in public settings.  Pop is an interesting fellow.  He was dealt a miserable hand.  An unexpected child, with his closest sibling being 12 years his senior, he watched his brother and brother in-laws march off to WW2; he missed Korea and was out of the service before Vietnam.  The only topic of discussion that brings a smile to his face is driving sport scars.  Apparently the old man was hell on wheels in tiny Triumphs, TR-2 and TR3’s.  I think it’s what won my mom over – that bad boy image from the fifties was all the rage in the early 60’s.

Finally, brother.  I absolutely tormented my two younger sisters growing up.  But, also was their greatest defenders.  My littlest sister tells the story of the time she came to my dorm room in college (she was a freshman and I was a Junior), and I introduced her to every one, and then promptly told them the all needed to not mess with her.  I don’t remember it, but she does, and periodically reminds me of how nice it was to have me help her transition from high school to college life.

So there you have it, my wordy introduction – well over the 500 word minimum.

Leave a Reply

